Rivera upbeat in return to KC

Mariano Rivera’s 2013 farewell tour stopped Friday night in Kansas City where his 2012 season came to an abrupt halt about this time a year ago when he torn up his right knee while shagging fly balls during batting practice. His Yankees teammates gave Mo a laugh before Friday night’s game with a sign in the area that read, “No Mo Zone,” and a crime-scene-investigation-style body imprint on the Kauffman Stadium warning track.

Typically, Rivera took everything in stride and, of course, he was out shagging fly balls before the game.

“Nothing is going to change; I’m going to do what I love to do,” Rivera told reporters. “Yes, I got hurt like this, but I’m going to enjoy it. It’s nothing to regret. I’m going to have the same fun that I have always had. That’s not going to put me down or say, ‘You know what? I don’t want to be here.’ I want to be here. I want to be here and to enjoy; to see the doctor that took me to the hospital and say, ‘Thank you.’ I want that. It’s not to feel sorry. It’s to have joy because I’m still doing what I love to do.”

Rivera has been doing what the Yankees love for him to do this season, which is to save games. Mo is 13-for-13 in save situations with a 1.88 ERA. He has a 27-save streak going against the Royals dating to August 1998 when he last blew a save against them. For his career, Rivera has 35 saves in 37 opportunities against the Royals.

Leave a Reply

