Mo to be honored with Lou Gehrig Sports Award

Mariano Rivera will be honored at the 19th annual Lou Gehrig Sports Awards Benefit Thursday night at the New York Mariott Marquis at Broadway and West 45th Street.

Rivera, baseball’s all-time saves leader who ended a brilliant 19-season career in 2013, will receive the prestigious Lou Gehrig Sports Award along with formers Mets pitcher turned broadcaster Ron Darling and former Giants quarterback turned sportscaster Phil Simms.

Also to be honored will be former Eagles and Patriots fullback Kevin Turner, who is living with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, the disease that ended Gehrig’s life in 1941 and bears his name.

Former Yankees pitchers David Cone and Tommy John, who are past recipients and honorary board members, will also be in attendance. The master of ceremonies will be ESPN’s Jeremy Schaap.

“We are truly inspired by our honorees for their performance both on and off the field and are grateful to their support in helping to raise awareness of ALS,” said Dorine Gordon, president and chief executive officer of the ALS Association Greater New York Chapter. “We are pleased to be honoring these four athletes who through their character, courage and determination embody the legacy of Lou Gehrig.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: